MUSIC

EXPLORING THE IMPORTANCE MUSIC

untitled-4

This post is a collaboration with the amazing Abby from seafoaming.com. We explore the topic of music, how it affects people, our favourite songs and the importance of music in our lives. If you haven’t come across Abby’s blog yet you should definitely check it out right after you finish reading this post, as there is a part 2 waiting on her website. On Abby’s part of the post we talk about the contrast between music and other art forms, going back to the materialistic side of music and the nostalgic feelings music gives us. 

img_0737el

Let’s start with concerts, and going to gigs to see music live. First, I think it really brings people together, which is amazing. It’s so uniting – everyone’s there to see the same person and hear the same thing, and the whole concert is very – everyone seems very accepted, everyone’s the same.

Definitely! Everyone in the crowd becomes one. And the best feeling of the night is when your favourite song comes on and everyone is singing the lyrics. That feeling of being totally free and carefree for those couple of minutes.

Oh that’s such an amazing feeling! When it’s your favourite song and there’s thousands of people singing it and the artist is up there, and just the lights and the heat of the room and everything, it makes you want to cry. Yeah, it’s just absolute freedom.

For me, those songs were Falling for you by The 1975, and Naive by The Kooks.

I love that 1975 song! And for me, it was Colours by Halsey. I can remember that moment so clearly.

I want to see Halsey so badly!! 

SHE WAS AMAZING!! It was nearly the best night of my life. I heard she was touring and had to get in contact with my friends in half an hour to get tickets in time.

img_7139el

So, kind of related to this, is how music can define moments. You know when you hear a song, and you are immediately transported back to the exact time you were listening to it constantly. It’s different to anything else. I never find I feel like that with writing, or photos, or paintings, or anything else. Just music.

Yeah for sure! Seaside by The Kooks defines the whole summer of 2014 for me. Whenever I hear it I immediately see the friends I spent that summer with, the ocean, the sunsets. Songs also define some people – you know your best friend’s favourite song, and when you hear it you immediately think of them.

Yes! I have this whole album that is so intimately associated with an old relationship for me. And you do begin to relate people to music. One of my closest friends, she’s a very modern, upbeat, electronic, pop music kind of person. and that’s one of the way I describe her in my head, that’s one of the ways I would describe her to others. Music is such an intimate expression of an artist, it can also become an intimate expression of others.

Sometimes songs sound like people too… you know when someone is really bubbly and genuinely a happy person, a song that sounds like them is really upbeat.

Yeah, songs are so … they’re like people, they have their own personalities and feelings associated with them.

img_7257el

On a slightly new topic …

And music can save people. Music makes you feel heard and understood. The best music always has so much emotion in it, so much feeling, and when they’re talking about something that is so hard for you, or something so true to yourself, you feel really understood.

I agree – everyone has those lyrics they connect to, that make them feel like they’re not alone, that there’s someone out there who feels the same, and this makes them feel better and reassures them they will be okay. Songs can give people hope and make them forget about their problems for a while.

Exactly, and sometimes that’s what can save you, just knowing there’s someone out there like that. That you’re not alone. There’s this beautiful representation of how you feel, and it sort of validates it. A song that means so much to me in that way is How to save a life by The Fray.

Oh yes, that song is amazing. I think a lot of people can connect to it.

Yeah, I love it so much.

img_7170el

LISTEN TO THE PLAY LIST

Thank you so much for reading! To read Abby’s post click here. You should also follow her on instagram and subscribe to her YouTube.

6 thoughts on “EXPLORING THE IMPORTANCE MUSIC

  1. I never heard of that song 1975 before. I am now interested in hearing it. This post was very enlightening because I love live concerts they are so intimate and personal. Great post Kinga & Abby! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. This post is gold! Wish i could give it a thousand likes. Especially the part about songs sounding like people. I always thought that if you want to know what a person is like you need to check the music they listen to.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

