THOUGHTS

FEMALES RULE

8th March – International Women’s Day

f

Hey guys, I hope everyone had an amazing Women’s Day (and by that I mean receive lots of flowers), but most importantly, I hope everyone had some kind of feminist discussion today, whether it was in a class or with friends. Any type of discussion about equality is beneficial and in need of.

Today I wanted to write a bit about influential women that I personally look up to. I want to share these amazing women and their stories as inspiration for you. I am only including 3 in my post, but there is honestly an endless list because literally every girl fridais amazing, and more us need to actually start seeing that.

Frida Kahlo – If you haven’t heard this name already a million times – I’m going to repeat it for you one more time. I can’t even express how much love I have for Frida Kahlo, and how much respect I have for her views and art. Handicap, Mexican, bisexual, female artist who made history, is still very prominent in our lives today, because many women can relate and understand what she has to go through. In her art, we can find a lot femininity but in her personality, a lot of masculinity. This relates to the fact that she didn’t believe in gender roles (and dressed up as a boy frequently). I think the thing that really made me respect her, was her open sexuality, especially during her time. Her bold acts, fashion statements and sexuality, definitely made her stand out during 1920s to 1950s.

Malala Yousafzai – This extraordinary lady is the youngest Nobel myPrize laureate, ever. Her occupation is described as a Child Activist and a Women’s Right Activist, but she is so much more than just a title; she is strong, brave and influential. She is fighting for equal education for all,  which resulted in the Taliban issuing a death threat against her. She is using her voice for not only herself but for others who can’t. She doesn’t speak – she shouts, she tells her story almost screaming with passion. Watch one of her amazing speeches here.

aa

Adwoa Aboah – I recently found this amazing and inspiring girl, because I watched a documentary that she was a part, and where she explored sexual equality. She does a lot of other projects, for example she is the founder of GurlTalk. The community she created through GurlTalk is truly empowering as it allows girls from all of the different backgrounds to open up and feel comfortable to talk and listen to each other, and discover that we actually have a lot in common with one another. She teaches girls that it is important to open up. Adwoa’s story is extremely inspiring as she is someone who recovered from addiction and created something good out of the bad.

I really recommend reading and researching more about all of these lovely ladies!

In the comments please write one or two females who you look up to!

Other clips to DEFINITELY watch:


7 thoughts on “FEMALES RULE

  1. What a perfect post for this day. Absolutely in love with Emma Watson and so pissed about the shit she’s getting for showing a bit of boob in a photoshoot – isn’t the whole idea of feminsim about female empowerment???

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey Kinga! Thanks for the follow! I must say I had to follow back after looking at your amazing photos. I wish I had been as accomplished and talented as you are when I was 17! Keep up the amazing work, hugs from the U.S. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

