THRIFTED STREETS OF LONDON

It has been a while since I had the time to go out and take photos, because of the colossal amount of work I have, but I finally had that opportunity to do so last Saturday, and I grabbed it!

I headed out to explore London with my friend, as I always do, and ended up in Brick Lane – a hipster central with awesome thrift shops and open markets. Surprisingly it was the first time I ever went there even though I have lived in London for so many years now. This is what I love about this city; no matter how old you are, how long you lived here, or how much you travel around, you will never experience everything London has to offer.

We stumbled upon antique shops that had stacks of old… everything; books, coins, street signs, records (that may or may not even work), lamps, photo albums – and the list goes on. It was really fun going through dust-covered pieces of people’s past, especially the old photographs. It made me think, how did all of these personal things get here? What happened to the people in the photos? What is the story behind it?

The most interesting and ironic thing about that adventure was the fact that those narrow, graffiti covered streets were filled with young people. It seems like the young generations have a big passion for the past, you could feel the same nostalgia as everyone else and an odd feeling of missing something you never had. Seems like the kindles, tablets and phones are just not enough, since we keep running back to film cameras, real books and records.

IMG_8574elsIMG_8579elIMG_8590elIMG_8595elIMG_8600elIMG_8604elIMG_8615eclIMG_8622elIMG_8623elIMG_8628elIMG_8632elIMG_8675elIMG_8637el


InstagramTwitterSpotifyTumblrYouTubeSoundcloud


signoff

15 thoughts on “THRIFTED STREETS OF LONDON

      1. For sentimental reasons, Paris will always have a special place in my heart. NYC never goes out of style. London has a unique vibrancy, though, doesn’t it? It has that indefinable X-Factor, and bags of it!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m totally digging your photos! I’m actually going to post about a thrift shop on my country (Philippines) and I was looking for inspirations on how I would tackle the subject. I really appreciated how you narrated your experience. It really helped me think clearly on how I should do mine. Thank you Kinga! 🙂 Hope I’ll get to meet you someday! More power to your blogs! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you so much Ian! And I think you that if you are struggling, you could write about the experience in a chronological order…? And describe most exciting moments in more detail. Hope I helped

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “This is what I love about this city; no matter how old you are, how long you lived here, or how much you travel around, you will never experience everything London has to offer.” – I couldn’t agree with you more! That line just resonates with me as London is up there as one of my favourites cities in the world. I too only discovered Brick Lane last year. I was exploring the street art of London and it lead me there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

